top of page

Hispanic Heritage

Golden Steel Plate

(September 15-October 15)

In 1968, during the Lyndon B. Johnson Administration, Congress passed a resolution to celebrate the heritage of US Latinos. The original week-long celebration was expanded to a full month by President Regan in 1988.

The observance begins on September 15 to coincide with the Independence Days of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Those are followed by Mexico and Chile on September 16 and September 18, respectively. All gained independence from Spain.

The term Latino or Latinx is preferred to Hispanic although all are used interchangeably. Those terms refer to people that trace their roots to Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, El Salvador, Venezuela, Peru, Colombia, Argentina, Panama, Chile, Ecuador, Bolivia, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Uruguay and Paraguay.

Although fiercely proud of country of origin, Latinos closely relate to each other. We share many things in common including the Spanish language.  We also share values. Family is a predominate aspect of the culture.

Latinos can be of any race. They can have a mixture of bloodlines. Most Latinos have some combination of European (Spanish), Indigenous, and African blood. In addition, there are also Asian Latinos.

The History of National Hispanic Heritage Month

Golden Steel Plate
bottom of page